The Bleeding

RM69.90

Author: Johana Gustawsson
ISBN: 9781914585272
Format: B-Format Paperback
Publisher: Orenda

Only 2 left in stock

SKU: 9781914585272 Categories: ,

Description

Queen of French Noir, Johana Gustawsson returns with a spell-binding, dazzlingly dark gothic thriller that swings from Belle Epoque France to 21st-century Quebec, with an extraordinary mystery at its heart … FIRST in a bewitching new series

**Shortlisted for the CWA Crime in Translation Dagger**

1899, Belle Epoque Paris. Lucienne’s two daughters are believed dead when her mansion burns to the ground, but she is certain that her girls are still alive and embarks on a journey into the depths of the spiritualist community to find them. 1949, Post-War Quebec.

Teenager Lina’s father has died in the French Resistance, and as she struggles to fit in at school, her mother introduces her to an elderly woman at the asylum where she works, changing Lina’s life in the darkest way imaginable. 2002, Quebec. A former schoolteacher is accused of brutally stabbing her husband – a famous university professor – to death.

Detective Maxine Grant, who has recently lost her own husband and is parenting a teenager and a new baby single-handedly, takes on the investigation. Under enormous personal pressure, Maxine makes a series of macabre discoveries that link directly to historical cases involving black magic and murder, secret societies and spiritism … and women at breaking point, who will stop at nothing to protect the ones they love…

_________________ `This novel is a whirlpool that draws you irresistibly into levels of darkness so much deeper than you can possibly be ready for Ambrose Parry `I found myself racing through the book, always wanting one more page, one more chapter. A wonderfully creepy, unsettling read, with a superb twist in its tail James Oswald `Gustawsson’s writing is so vivid, it’s electrifying. Utterly compelling Peter James `I was hooked from the first page – a stunning and beautifully written gothic thriller full of atmosphere, intrigue and delight Alexandra Benedict `Brilliant …

the last chapters knocked me sideways, and it’s a long time since that’s happened Lisa Hall `A dark world of elegance and grotesque … mesmeric Matt Wesolowski `Harrowing, compelling, haunting, vivid, twisty and shocking! Noelle Holten `A powerful page-turner Livres Hebdo ***NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER IN FRANCE*** FOR FANS OF Laura Purcell, Stacey Halls, Bridget Collins, Anna Mazzola, Essie Fox, Ambrose Parry and Laura Shepherd-Robinson Praise for Johana Gustawsson `A satisfying, full-fat mystery The Times `Assured telling of a complex story Sunday Times `A real page-turner, I loved it Martina Cole `A bold and intelligent read Guardian `Utterly compelling Woman’s Own `Cleverly plotted, simply excellent Ragnar Jonasson `A must-read Daily Express `Gritty, bone-chilling, and harrowing – it’s not for the faint of heart, and not to be missed Crime by the Book `A relentless heart-stopping masterpiece New York Journal of Book

Additional information

Author

Johana Gustawsson

Format

B-Format Paperback

Publisher

Orenda