Weasels In The Attic

RM79.90

Author: Hiroko Oyamada
ISBN: 9781783789757
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Granta

In stock

SKU: 9781783789757 Category:

Description

A UK debut from a fresh, prize-winning talent, this quietly surreal novel is perfect for fans of Sayaka Murata and Mieko Kawakami–Two friends meet across three dinners. In the back room of a pet shop, they snack on dried shrimps and discuss fish-breeding. In a remote new home in the mountains, they look for a solution to a weasel infestation.

During a dinner party in a blizzard, a mounting claustrophobia makes way for uneasy dreams. Their conversations often take them in surprising directions, but when one of the men becomes a father, more and more is left unsaid. With emotional acuity and a wry humour, Weasels in the Attic it is an uncanny and striking reflection on fertility, masculinity, and marriage in contemporary Japan.

–“Oyamada is in complete control of her talent… A writer flexing their muscles and preparing for something truly profound” – Japan Times

Additional information

Author

Hiroko Oyamada

Format

Hardcover

Publisher

Granta