Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Author event with Hanna Alkaf

May 6, 2023 @ 11:00 am - 12:30 pm

RM10

Hanna Alkaf will be speaking with Honey Ahmad from Two Book Nerds Talking podcast and Lit Books’ Elaine Lau about her new middle-grade novel, Hamra and the Jungle of Memories, with audience Q&A and book-signing after. Tickets are RM10 and you will receive a RM10 voucher to use on event day towards any purchase. If you are bringing your children, they will also need tickets to enter.

About the book:
A Malaysian spin on Little Red Riding Hood from the critically acclaimed author of The Girl and the Ghost, Hanna Alkaf.

Courage is the strongest magic there is. On Hamra’s thirteenth birthday, she receives nothing but endless nagging and yet another errand to run in the Langkawi jungle that looms behind her home.

No one has remembered her special day. And so, stifled and angry, Hamra ignores something she shouldn’t: the rules of the jungle.

Always ask permission before you enter. Hamra walks boldly in.

Never take what isn’t yours. Hamra finds the most perfect jambu and picks it.

Of course, rules exist for a reason, and soon an enormous weretiger is stalking her dreams, demanding payment for her crimes—and Hamra embarks on a quest deep into the jungle to set things right.

For fans of Ikegna and A Tale Dark and Grimm comes a story of a brave heroine, a beguiling villain, fantastical worlds, magical adventures, and a journey that will remind you that hope, friendship, and love endures all.

About the author:
Hanna Alkaf is the critically acclaimed author of the Freeman Award winner THE WEIGHT OF OUR SKY, the Kirkus Prize finalist THE GIRL AND THE GHOST, and QUEEN OF THE TILES. She graduated with a degree in journalism from Northwestern University and spent over ten years in journalism and communications before trading in nonfiction for fiction. Her next books are the MG fantasy adventure HAMRA & THE JUNGLE OF MEMORIES and the YA magic school murder mystery anthology THE GRIMOIRE OF GRAVE FATES (Delacorte Press, June 6th 2023). Hanna lives in Kuala Lumpur with her family.

Details

Date:
May 6, 2023
Time:
11:00 am - 12:30 pm
Cost:
RM10
Event Categories:
, , ,
Website:
https://litbooks.com.my/product/author-event-with-hanna-alkaf/

Venue

Lit Books
P-1-11 Tropicana Avenue, 12 Persiaran Tropicana
Petaling Jaya, Selangor 47410 Malaysia
+ Google Map
Phone
0378866988
View Venue Website