Beasts of a Little Land

RM85.00

Author: Juhea Kim
ISBN: 9780861543489
Format: Trade Paperback
Publisher: Oneworld Publications

Only 1 left in stock

SKU: 9780861543489 Categories: , , ,

Description

‘Beasts of a Little Land is a stunning achievement’ TLS
‘Spectacular’ Lisa See, author of The Island of Sea Women
‘I loved it’ Brandon Hobson, author of The Removed
‘Unforgettable’ Nguyễn Phan Quế Mai, author of The Mountains Sing

An expansive epic spanning the turbulent decades of Korea’s fight for independence, perfect for fans of Min Jin Lee’s Pachinko

Beasts take many shapes…

It is 1917, and Korea is yet to be divided into north and south. With the threat of famine looming, a young girl named Jade is sold by her family to Miss Silver’s courtesan school in cosmopolitan Pyongyang, an act of desperation that will cement her place in the lowest social status. But the city’s days as a haven are numbered.

Jade flees to Seoul where she forms a deep friendship with an orphan boy called JungHo, who scrapes together a living begging on the streets. As Jade becomes a sought-after performer with unexpected romantic prospects, JungHo is swept up in the revolutionary fight for independence. Soon Jade must decide between following her own ambitions, or risking everything for the one she loves.

From the perfumed chambers of the courtesan school to the glamorous cafes of a modernising Seoul, the unforgettable characters of Beasts of a Little Land unveil a world where friends become enemies and enemies become saviours, where heroes are persecuted and beasts take many shapes.